Spicy Chicken Cheese Buldak

I got to make the Spicy Chicken Cheese Buldak last night. Was absolutely amazing (considering it came from my little kitchen), and to top it all off it turned into a nice dinner date with my boyfriend. We set up a little table outside, and spread our meal across it. Add a couple beers and you can’t go wrong!

Buldak 1

In my previous post I referred to THIS PAGE for the recipe I used. Their recipe is actually for Spicy Pork Bulgogi. I appropriated the ingredients and made it into my own.

In my state of laziness I also omitted a couple ingredients which I didn’t have already. Here is what I ended up using:

1/3 cup Korean chilli pepper paste (called gochujang)
3 tablespoons finely minced garlic
2 tablespoons soy sauce
2 tablespoons sugar
1 tablespoon sesame oil
1 tablespoon honey

1 red onion, thinly sliced
650 grams chicken breast, cut into small-medium chunks

I mixed all the ingredients (minus the chicken) together first, then added the chicken. Mixed it all up until I was sure all the chicken pieces were completely covered in the sauce/marinade. I waited a couple hours before cooking.

Buldak 2
I cooked the chicken pieces in a fry pan, making sure each side was cooked before turning. It can be a little hard to tell because everything is covered in a red-pink sauce, but the white of cooked chicken is easily identifiable at the very least.

Buldak 3

Once cooked, I placed all the pieces on an oven tray lined with foil. Sprinkled a generous heap of cheddar cheese on top and popped it into a pre-heated oven for 5 minutes.

Buldak 4

Buldak 5As you can see, it looks great! Another thing you can do is to bake the whole lot in the oven from the start. It would take a bit longer, but I’m sure it will be just as good or better.

Serve it with a bit of rice, and maybe some vegies or other Korean side dishes like kimchi, and you’re in for a really nice meal. I don’t consider myself a cook in any way, so it really shows how easy this was to make! I’ve tried this dish at multiple Korean restaurants before. While mine isn’t quite as good, the flavour is there due to the gochujang paste. I picked a container of this up from a local Korean grocery store. There was a display with a few different brands, and containers ranging from 250g to 2kg. Some also have a spicyness indicator. I chose a medium one. Of course, if you’re a lover of spicy food and want it to be a bit hotter, you can always add chilli powder into the original mix.

Bon appetit.

Buldak 6

Leave a comment