It’s time to track my Net Worth

I think I ought to start tracking my wealth more closely, in the format shown below:

Assets:

  • Cash
  • Super
  • Investments
  • Other

Total Assets:

Liabilities:

  • Credit cards
  • HECS
  • Other

Total Liabilities:

Net Worth:

Unfortunately, I don’t pay any attention to my HECS debt, and am not even sure how much of it is paid off, if any. Since I usually ignore it, I often believe I am wealthier than I really am.

A quick estimate of this HECS debt: 3.5k per semester for 5 years of Architecture school. So 10 semesters should stand me at ~$35,000. Yikes!

Stop opening up more tabs!

One of the great, but frustrating, things about having so much free time to do whatever my heart desires is that sometimes I start reading a blog, and end up in a rabbit hole that sees my Chrome window have 20 tabs open. Each tab will show me something I want to read up on, but in doing so, I then open more tabs to either research what I just read about, or because I have clicked on yet another link.

Then, several hours later, I am 5% through each of these tabs and I’m wondering how to extricate myself from this predicament while still consuming what is on each page. I have to exercise patience and willpower to not open any more tabs!