Take Me Back

Dear Weird Internet Diary,

I just had an impulse to go back to Shoal Bay on the central coast. The image popped into my mind and now I’m filled with hope that I’ll get to see it again one day.

The truth is, the last 9 months have been one ball of stress to the next. And I miss the sunshine glimmering along the waves.

I feel like all Australians lost an entire summer this year. An entire season lost to bushfires and smoke haze.

Now that I can allow myself to think about it, I would dearly love to sink my toes in soft, golden sand and hear that rythmic crashing of waves against the shore. Can you hear it? Can you feel it?

And the fact that I’m starting to have these positive yearnings is due to the fact that I’ve resigned from my job this week.

It still feels surreal. On the one hand I’m sad to leave a job where I genuinely like everyone, the environment, the office, the designs, and my god, the pay! The other hand is clenched in a fist pump, though, because I’m also very desperate to see the back of this school project. I still have 18.5 days of working left. Counting down every hour, it seems.

Take me back to those warm, summer days, where my brain was not riddled with anxiety and fears.

Leave a comment